Legal Question in Family Law in Utah

Utah Inheritance Laws

My father-in-law was married to a woman for approx. 2 - 3yrs. He has 6 children from previous marriages (ages ranging from 10 28). He has since passed away with no will, and we are now looking at the possibility of inheritance from other family members. Can the most recent wife take all the inheritance? What kind of action can the children take to ensure that she does not get any of it?

Asked on 5/01/08, 9:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Utah Inheritance Laws

The children are entitled to about 1/2 or more of the estate of your father. His wife is entitled to the rest. You may call for a free consultation.

Read more
5/02/08, 10:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Utah

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now