Utah | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Lawn sprinklers flooded neighbor's basement
I left my lawn sprinklers on for 6 hours. The neighbor's basement flooded and caused $1,000 damage. Our properties are separated by a vinyl fence so the sprinklers did not come into direct contact with the neighbor's property. The water seeped through a retaining wall that separates our properties. The neighbor had prior knowledge that his basement is prone to flooding. He failed to adjust his drainage to drain the water away from his house. He is suing for the cost of repairs. Am I liable? If so, do I have the right to help select the company that repairs the damage?


