Utah  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
8/25/04, 1:30 pm

Legal Question


How do I prove fraud?

I am trying to draft a federal case against the State of Utah. I have some evidence that shows that they acted to deliberately to defraud the US government of Title IV funds. Where this should abrogate their immunity I think the biggest problem I will have will be to prove they acted to defraud the US Government.

So, the question is three fold.

1. What law would a private citizen use to take a state to court for fraud?

2. What gives a private citizen standing to bring federal action for this kind of fraud?

3. What is the standard of evidence for proving fraud like this?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search