Legal Question in Employment Law in Utah

Employment References

I had always heard that in the state of Utah, an employer can only give a reference containing the beginning and end date of employment and salary. Anything else would be defamation of character. Is this true or false?

Asked on 2/17/09, 1:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Employment References

Most employers only give the bare essentials to avoid lawsuits, but an employer can state more if the employer so chooses.

Read more
2/17/09, 4:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Utah

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now