Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Utah

My fiance had a legal battle a few years ago, and we are in the process of continuing the process - however we went to the past lawyer to ask for the files of her case and old lawyer responded that he gave her file away to her past boyfriend - she did not ask anyone ever to pick up her file.

I need to know what options we have to recover from the damage he just caused - The old lawyer doesn't even have a copy of anything anymore - and gave out her entire file to a unknown stranger!

Asked on 7/26/13, 12:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You can file a complaint with the Utah State Bar against the old lawyer. Also you can get the critical files from the court that hosted the legal battle.

Read more
Answered on 7/28/13, 2:22 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Utah

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now