Utah | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Bad advice from attorney
I am involved with a discrimination lawsuit against my former employer. After I left my job because of the discrimination, my husband and I had to file bankruptcy because of the loss of income. The attorney we used for bankruptcy advised me I did not need to claim the discrimination complaint on our list of assets as it was not a lawsuit at the time. Now that it is a lawsuit (2 years later), I was made aware from a new attorney that it should have been listed so now the proceeds, if any will be handled through the bankruptcy trustee because it wasn't listed when the bankruptcy was discharged. Is there any recourse for me against the attorney who gave me ill advice? It seems the only amount I will be able to recover now is the amount we took out in bankruptcy, which will go to pay our creditors.


