Utah  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/04/10, 9:46 am

Legal Question


we purchased a home security system back in June. we signed a contract stating that we had only 3 days to cancel our 36 month contract, however, we have not been recieving monitoring because the system doesn't seem to ever work correctly, we also can't really afford to have it, so we want to cancel it. When they sold it to us, we were told that legally we have 90 days to cancel, but calling them today they said we can cancel only if we pay the 36 months in full and pay for all of the equiptment they gave us for "free". do you know what my legal rights are here?


question bubble
8/09/10, 10:25 am

Legal Answer


The written agreement governs your rights. Read it carefully. Generally you have 3 days to cancel such an agreement. It sounds like the seller wants you to pay the balance owing - but I doubt they will send a refund.

If the product is defective you may also want to sue them in small claims court before they turn this over to collections.

Alvin Lundgren

Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C. 5015 W. Old Hwy 30 Ste 200 Mt. Green, UT 84050-9752

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search