Utah  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
3/26/08, 1:03 am

Legal Question


how long can an insurance claim stay active?

Roughly 3 and a half years ago I was out golfing and happened to have a golf ball strike me in the mouth while standing in the parking lot. it knocked out a few teeth and I have had to deal with extensive dental work since then. The dental work is finally coming to an end. The insurance company has paid for all of my work but the last few thousand dollars they seem to be putting off for some reason. I want to know if there is a period of time after said accident that they will not be responsible for covering my dental work. One final thing that id like to inquire about is whether or not I am entitled to a settlement. Thanks!


question bubble
3/26/08, 10:40 am

Legal Answer


Re: how long can an insurance claim stay active?

In Utah, for negligence claims such as this one, you have four years from the time you were injured to settle your claim or file a lawsuit. This is called the "statute of limitations." On top of your medical bills you may also be entitled to a settlement for pain and suffering. If you would like to discuss the specifics of your case feel free to contact me.

Rex Bush

Bush Law Firm 138 E. 12300 S. Ste C174 Draper, UT 84020

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search