Utah | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I divorced about 5 years ago. We split 4 timeshare properties. Do I need to file a quitclaim to avoid paying fees on his properties should he default?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randy B. Birch |
The contractual rights and obligations between you and your ex, and the timeshare is distinct and separate from the relationship/divorce between you and your ex. In other words, you may be (and likely are) contractually obligated to the timeshare regardless of what type of document you may file or send. The timeshare company has to agree to let you off. If your ex (who I assume was awarded and ordered to pay for the timeshares) fails to pay, the timeshare company would pursue you and him. If you were required to pay, you would have to go back to divorce court and ask the judge to require your ex to pay you back. |
Top Attorneys in UT
Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
Mt. Green, UT
Questions Answered: 4293
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Paul W. Jones Attorney LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Arnold & Wadsworth
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Kenny Law Firm, LLC
Riverdale, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Walter T Keane PC
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Strong & Hanni, P.C.
Salt Lake City, UT
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


