Utah  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 5:32 pm

Legal Question


We recently signed a Contract for Deed to purchase a home from our landlord. We had been told that the current tenants had been given their 30 day notice in October, as their lease has expired and they are renting month to month, and that we could move into the property by the end of November. We found out yesterday, November 12, that the tennants still had not been given notice, and the landlord (who we purchased from) is still collecting rent on the property. Our first payment on the property is due the first of December, and we have been told we won't be able to move in until next year. I beleive we have the legal right to serve a 15 day no cause notice, but the landlord will not let us do so. Also he will not let us file the Contract with a title company, not the county clerks office. Can he stop us from doing these things?


question bubble
11/18/09, 10:39 pm

Legal Answer


It will depend on the signed documents you executed with the Seller. You were on notice that there was a tenant and should have demanded documents which confirmed that the tenants were leaving. You may call for a free consultation.

Alvin Lundgren

Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C. 5015 W. Old Hwy 30 Ste 200 Mt. Green, UT 84050-9752

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search