Virginia | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
can i keep my automobile that i am still payying for if i filr chapter 7 bankruptcy
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Press |
In most cases, yes. To keep your car, you first need to be able to continue making the payments (otherwise, the lender will take it). If there is any equity in the car (value minus the loan amount), it would have to be no more than you can exempt (or the trustee will sell it).
Assuming Virginia exemptions would apply (which they would if you have lived in Va. for over 2 years), you can exempt $2000 in equity in a car, plus you have a "wild card" (so-called homestead) exemption, which allows you to exempt at least $5000 in any money or property. (It's $5000, plus $500 per dependent, plus $10,000 if you are a disabled veteran, and an extra $5000 if you are over 65). The exemptions are per person, so married debtors filing jointly each get those amounts and can apply them to the car if it is jointly owned.
Consult a bankruptcy lawyer for details on how this will apply to your specific situation. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Paul B. Ward
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Regency Legal Clinic
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-09-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Search Questions and Answers


