Virginia  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/05/09, 6:38 am

Legal Question


My estranged wife is filing chapter 7 on her debts, this is not a joint filing. She and I have agreed to a divorce, although nothing is on paper as of yet. (No legal seperation/divorce filing) Her attorney has requested copies of our/my tax returns for the last 3 years, we did file both state and federal as married filing jointly for less tax purposes. My question is: Can I be held legally responsible for her debts?


question bubble
11/10/09, 1:09 pm

Legal Answer


For tax debts on joint returns, yes - those would be joint debt. But you are not liable for her individual debt.

Daniel Press

Chung & Press, P.C. 6718 Whittier Ave., Suite 200 Mclean, VA 22101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search