Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

I failed to file a homestead deed within 5 days

O.K. I admit it. I made a HUGE mistake going Pro Se. I failed to realize that Virginia has arcane homestead deed rules. I went to my 341 on 07/22. On 08/17, my trustee has filed an objection to my homestead exemption of $5k, due to the fact I did not file a deed within 5 days of the 341. What are my remedies? Do I convert to a Chapter 13? Is this the ONLY way out of this nightmare? Surely, there is an easier way out. I want to keep the Chapter 7 in play. Will the trustee cut a deal with me and allow me to make payments on the $5K, or can he place a judicial lien on the property? I don't want to lose my house over this. And do you thinl he is he going to go for an appraisal and dig deeper?...HELP!

Asked on 8/22/05, 11:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Sawyer Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: I failed to file a homestead deed within 5 days

You need to consult a local bankruptcy attorney ASAP, period. He/she will tell you waht needs to be done.

Read more
Answered on 8/23/05, 9:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now