Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

HOA Fees and Bankruptcy

Declared Chapter 7 bankruptcy in March 1990 and debts fully discharged in July 1990. Just received a demand from a collection agency to pay over $3000 in past due HOA fees that incurred within last nine years. The mortgage and timeshare company were listed in the bankruptcy proceeding and notified of final discharge. Mortgage company wanted us to sign a piece of paper transferring the property back to them. Our bankruptcy attorney said no...we would sign a quit claim deed only. We were never presented with one to sign. Collection agency is attempting to collect HOA fees from 1990 to 1999, saying we are still the owners of the property as evidenced by deed records and responsible for these charges. Are we responsible for them? If not, how do we respond to the collection agency?

Asked on 10/11/99, 12:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: HOA Fees and Bankruptcy

You need to consult with counsel. If you are still in the property, you owe the fees. If not, you may have a defense.

Read more
Answered on 10/11/99, 8:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now