Virginia  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/26/03, 4:45 pm

homestead exemption/ husband not on deed

my husband & I are contemplating Chapter 7 due to overwhelming medical & credit card debt...I get the impression that becauce my husband is not on the deed to the house his exemption may not be used? I bought the house under FHA guidelines and never thought of adding him since he is sole beneficiary and in VA if I died he would automatically be the owner..Can I add him to the deed prior to filing? My county assesemnt is higher than what I could sell....but without my husbands exemption and if they use the assesment, it looks as though I will have 5500 equity?

I do wish to keep my home....Thanks

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search