Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

Jointly owned property

My husband and I are both on the deed for our home. There is a company trying to place a judgment against him and threatening to take our house. What is the law in Virginia if it is jointly owned? Can they touch it if my name is on the deed too, but not on the judgment?

Asked on 6/02/05, 4:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Jointly owned property

If the property is properly titled to husband and wife by the entireties, a judgment against one spouse only does not attach to the real estate.

Read more
Answered on 6/02/05, 5:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now