Virginia  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/06/09, 10:36 am

Legal Question


I have an old tentant who im garnishing his wages for past rent. I am not a company he rented one of my homes from me. Can he add me in to his bankruptcy so he doesnt have to pay me? Can i fight it if he deos?


question bubble
11/11/09, 10:44 am

Legal Answer


In most circumstances, he can shed your claim (Chapter 7 bankruptcy) or pay it for less than 100 cents on the dollar (Chapter 13 or 11). You are probably a general unsecured creditor, so it's unlikely there's much you could do about it.

Paul B. Ward

Law Offices of Paul B. Ward 8304 Old Courthouse Road, Suite B Vienna,, VA 22182

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search