Virginia  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 4:16 pm

Legal Question


I am 16 1/2 and looking for a part-time job. A local gas station is hiring 16 year olds and up. Like all gas stations, they sell alcohol. Due to religious reasons, I do not wish to sell alcohol or lottery tickets. The manager said it was a requirement that all employees sell them. He said that a minor may sell it but only if someone on staff was there who was over 21. He said it was according to VA state law.

Is that true?

Also, is it religious discrimination for the manager to say I *must* sell alcohol?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search