Virginia | Business Law
Legal Question
Advantages of an incorporated business having a registered agent?
We are a small VA plumbing business that is incorporated, and currently have a registered agent. Last year, the owners changed (within the same family), but the agent (an attorney) failed to notify the State Corp. Commission of the change. We were obviously dismayed by the poor quality of this service, but it raises a larger question. Given that the business and its owners are located in VA, 1) do we need a registered agent? 2) What are the advantages of having one, and the disadvantages (besides the cost) of having one? 3) What can a registered agent do (or do better) than we can do ourselves?


