Legal Question in Business Law in Virginia

I work for a large Fortune 500 company. Recently a position came open due to someone retiring. I have a through knowledge of the details, responsibilities and duties of the position as I "filled in" when the regular assigned employee was out due to sickness or vacation. I interviewed for the position along with several other people in the company. When I asked about the pay grade I was told by my manager she did not have information on this and I would have to contact human resources. After contacting my human resource representitive I was sent an email (which I have retained) that "all pay grades are strictly confidential did I have a specific question." As I live almost an hour from the office and the job requires additional skills not possessed by everyone I had no way of making a rational decision as to whether the additional compensation would cover my gas, mechanical auto expense, and required additional duties. I had to accept the positon before I would be told the pay. Instead they hired someone with no background I was then told to train. Our own company policy manual state supervisors are to discuss pay grades and pay ranges with employees and any violation of this policy will result in disciplinary action. Do I have a legal case beyond going to our own compliance department. Thanks for answering this question!

Asked on 12/03/11, 3:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, not on these facts (in my opinion).

Read more
12/03/11, 7:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now