Drinking in Public Arrest - Class 4 Misdemeanor
My 19 year old daughter was arrested for ''Drunk in Public''. She was not charged with possession of alcohol, just ''Drunk in Public''. She is scheduled to appear in court on February 19 if she does not pay the $74.00 fine. My question is, if she pays the fine, will this charge be on her permanent record, and, if so, for how long? If she goes to court, what can she expect as her punishment? Does she need a lawyer?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: Drinking in Public Arrest - Class 4 Misdemeanor
This is a misdemeanor that will be on her permanent record if convicted. Fairfax County is going overboard in "cracking down" on Drunk in Public ("DIP"), including arresting peaceful people in bars. They are using the standard for driving while intoxicated as the basis for such charges (0.08 BAC), which is NOT the legal standard for DIP. They are also taking a too expansive view of what is "public", charging people who are, for example, passengers in cars that have been pulled over and instructed to get out (claiming that they are in public once they get out). While a bar is arguably "public," inside a car is not. She should definitely get a lawyer and fight this, particularly if she was charged under such circumstances, or other questionable circumstances.
Related Questions & Answers
Charging Party My question is in an EEOC ruling on my part. I am not sure what this... Asked 1/07/03, 10:04 am in United States Virginia Civil Rights Law
Assault in school a teacher grabs a student by the arm/shoulder and puts their face... Asked 9/22/02, 3:11 pm in United States Virginia Civil Rights Law
Can an ex-girlfriend steal from a joint bank account? Hi this is sort of a thrid... Asked 9/18/02, 12:34 am in United States Virginia Civil Rights Law
Boyfriend Sues to Recover Personal Property An ex-boyfriend who I recently took to... Asked 8/14/02, 8:53 am in United States Virginia Civil Rights Law
Unethical practices Female coach gets fired from varsity girl's basketball and... Asked 6/19/02, 6:44 am in United States Virginia Civil Rights Law