Virginia  |  Technology Law

question bubble
11/21/10, 12:24 pm

Legal Question


My sister-in-law has a very successful blog that she is actively turning into a career. She's been building it up for years and is gaining a lot of momentum! Seemingly out of nowhere, a publishing company on the other side of the country has claimed that she is infringing on their brand and their name. My sister-in-law's blog has NOTHING to do with anything that this company is involved in and her blog's name is fairly commonplace... in that, there's a good chance that the name (or an equivalent variation) is being used elsewhere. Anyway, the publishing company has demanded that she relinquish the domain name and the brand entirely, thereby destroying what she has worked so hard to build (and not to mention stealing all of her traffic!). They, of course, have money and lawyers behind them... my sister-in-law does not. What can she do? Help! (And thanks!)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search