Virginia  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/04/04, 8:53 am

Legal Question


Warrant needed for auto searches?

As the title states, I would like to know if a warrant is needed in order to search an automobile on a routine traffic stop (i.e. busted headlight, speeding, etc.). No contraband or any other supicious items are readily visible.

Also, if you tell the officer that you do not consent to having your car searched after he requests for you to open your hood, car door, or trunk, will the items that are found be useable in court by the prosecution.

Lastly, where can I find the laws to back up your answers for my own reseach?

Thanks in advance for your help


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search