Virginia | Construction Law
Legal Question
A building contractor severed a septic field line when a road was put into a new development, about 7 years ago. I now own the property that the septic line comes from (the original property that was subdivided to make the new development) and my neighbors noticed seepage from the severed line coming down the bank towards the road. Does the contractor bear any liability for getting the leak sealed? Also is there precedence that the HOA fund could be reasonably used for the repair so that I do not have to bear the full cost. The basis of thinking on that is that the damage was done when the lots were developed and so could be considered a shared damage.


