Legal Question in Consumer Law in Virginia

Credit Fraud

My husbands ex-wife lives in MO while we live in Va. They have been divorced for 8 years. We have been receiving phone calls from a collection agency asking for her. They have stated she gave my husbands name and address to use on a credit application. She evidently signed his name to the application. The total bill she owes is in excess of $2,000. She does not have a job and is on welfare and every public assistance program you can imagine. The debt is now on my husbands credit report. I should mention she has a deep hatred for my husband, going as far as having him arrested for harrasment. The charge was completely dismissed by the courts and the D.A. wanted to prosocute her . My husband works for the Virginia State Police and this is causing problems with Internal revenue. Can anyone tell me what legal action we have and what class of charges each would be?

Asked on 7/15/09, 2:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cary Moseley Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Credit Fraud

This submission was answered earlier today. Your husband needs to consult an attorney. Good luck.

Read more
7/15/09, 3:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now