Legal Question in Consumer Law in Virginia

My rights as a cosigner

My father is the primary signer on my car loan (through our credit union). Both of our names are on the registration for the car. He threatened to take the car from me (I have been making all my payments on time, paid the down payment, etc) and I want to know if this is legal or if I can take the car and move out so long as I continue paying the car payments. Thanks in advance!

Asked on 7/13/09, 4:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: My rights as a cosigner

Yes, you could take the car any time since, if the facts are as you've stated, you're as much an owner of the car as your father may be.

Read more
7/13/09, 5:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now