Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

I have a debt that I am paying for my sisters husbands funeral. I assumed that she made payment and she had not. I signed the paperwork for the funeral because she was unable to due to her mental state. It was over 6 years old when I was taken to court by the lawyer that took over the collection. The original bill was $2433.66 I have been paying this off for over a year now and thought that I should be close to having it paid, that is what my record show. So I ask for a statement from the lawyer so I can be sure that we showing the same amount still due. Well I got the statement which shows he has now added $2,700. in interest over the last year. Is there anything that I can do about this interest? There was never any mention of interest when I agreed to make payments to him.

Asked on 1/06/12, 9:18 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cary Moseley Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should have an attorney review this matter with you.

Read more
Answered on 1/06/12, 9:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now