Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

My husband is incarcerated for the next 3 years in Florida. He has outstanding bills I had no knowledge of that keep coming in. We were married November 2012 in NC, and he was put in jail Feb 2013. We never had a joint account. How can I protect myself against his debt? I now have to live with my parents in Virginia as I work to support our 4 month old daughter and there's no way I could make payments for him.

Asked on 10/10/13, 6:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Already answered within last few days.

Read more
Answered on 10/13/13, 8:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now