Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

My question is I took out a personal loan to do repairs to my then home. HSBC was the lender on the home as well as the loan. I retired as ended giving the home back to HSBC however the loan was sold to a second who went to a collection agency (Leading Edge Recovery Solutions). I set up payments that are directly taken out of my bank account of $57.00 per month ($50.00 and $7.00 Convenience fee). The loan was for $10,415.70 I have been making payments from May 2011. My now loan balance is $10,392.33 only $23.37 was credited to the balance owed. I called Leading Edge and was told that the rest went to enterest. I was lead to belive that $50.00 would go on the principle. Does this seem correct????

Asked on 1/23/12, 10:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, unless you have credible written proof from this apparently predatory

lender that you were allegedly led to believe otherwise.

Read more
Answered on 1/23/12, 11:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now