Virginia  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 3:10 pm

Legal Question


Situation: A couple has recently separated. They have accumulated $14,000 in unsecured credit card debt. The wife is still living in the home in Virginia. Her husband is no longer providing any financial support. The wife is on a fixed income (SSI disability for a medical condition). The credit card debt was accumulated together, but the credit cards are in her name. The home was purchased for approximately $22,000. The mortgage balance is approximately $10,000. She consulted with an attorney to inquire about filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy, but was told she could lose her home. Question: Can the credit card creditors take the home away or force a sell to pay off credit card debt?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search