Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

Capias

I'm currently going through a

divorce in Hampton VA and missed a

court date and the judge issued a

Capias and and a warrant for my

arrest. I was unaware of the

warrant and when I went to the

police station to find out what they

wanted to talk to me about, I was

arrested. The magistrate denied me

bond, and I had to have a friend

retain and attorney to get a bond

hearing and as a result I was

released after posting a 5K bond. I

have to return to court in August to

answer the charges. I didn't

purposely miss the original court

date, but I'm concerned. What can I

expect?

Asked on 6/16/09, 4:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Capias

Better ask your attorney who hopefully has experience with the judges of the circuit court where you will have to appear.

Read more
6/16/09, 11:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now