Penalty of Filing a False Police Report in Virginia
My neighbor filed a report against her boyfriend for abuse. She later told the officer that it was a misunderstanding and that she wanted to clear it up. Since she wasn't going to press charges, the officer issued a warrant for a domestic assault and battery on him. The police have now threatened to charge her with filing a false police report if she claims that he did not beat her up. What are her options, and what are the possible penalties she is facing?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: Penalty of Filing a False Police Report in Virginia
Since it sounds like she may have indeed filed a false report, she should retain an attorney ASAP. Misdemeanors typically carry up to a $2,500 fine and 1 year in jail. Felonies carry more. Good luck.
Related Questions & Answers
Criminal law: abusive language on the telephone I was sent a summons, accusing me of... Asked 6/04/09, 4:18 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Lawsuit: Defimation of Character? Hi, Iím the Founder, Owner, and President of... Asked 6/04/09, 9:41 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Underage possession my 15 year old son was charged with underage possession of... Asked 6/03/09, 2:14 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Gun rights after being a felon After I have gotten my civil rights back through my... Asked 6/02/09, 9:51 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Randm drug tests Is a failed random drug test a criminal act? Asked 6/02/09, 2:46 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law