Virginia  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 6:21 am

Legal Question


if a person is not satisfied with their court appointed lawyer what rights do they have


question bubble
11/20/09, 7:21 am

Legal Answer


The person can ask the court to appoint replacement counsel. (The request, however, needs to be supported by a persuasive reason.)

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 7:45 am

Legal Answer


Most court-appointed lawyers I know are excellent. I agree, you need to have a good reason to justify the expense of another lawyer. Being generally dissatisfied is not enough. If you have an aversion to court-appointed lawyers, you could go hire your own attorney. Good luck.

Cary Moseley

Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC 916 Main Street, Third Floor Lynchburg, VA 24504

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search