My son is in jail and has been sentenced to 90 days and a $400 fine. What happens if the fine doesn't get paid?
1 Answer from Attorneys
I would not recommend failing to pay the fine. I'm not certain what the particular circumstances were - whether the sentence was based on a recommendation from the prosecutor, a plea deal, etc. etc. Nonetheless, it could result in additional jail time, revocation of the plea deal, etc., depending on the facts of your case.
If payment of the fine is truly an ability to pay issue, try to work out a payment arrangement w/ the court or agency involved in assessing the fine.
Related Questions & Answers
An order of Protection was issued in NY (Bronx County Supreme Criminal Court)i n... Asked 6/22/10, 3:38 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Is there anything one can do if their case was denied by the Supreme Court. I think... Asked 6/21/10, 3:26 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Im typing you because the lynchburg police dept is holding a man for some thing he... Asked 6/19/10, 4:57 am in United States Virginia Criminal Law
If you're out on bond and accidently miss your court date, can you get out on... Asked 6/18/10, 3:49 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law
Hello. My 10 year old son got choked to unconsciousness by another child in the... Asked 6/18/10, 3:09 pm in United States Virginia Criminal Law