Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

I am 57 years old. I aplied for a job with and "Equal Opportunity Employer" on line on 8/4/2011. I was called for an interview on 8/19. I was told I was called for my quality experience and that I had the qualitifications for the job (When filling out the application on line I had every qualification asked for.) but "Don't get discouraged if I did'nt get that job because others would soon be open and that I could apply for those". I received a letter shortly after saying they decided to go with someone else. Another job posting appeared on 9/13/2011 which I applied for with no interview. I recently found out that they hired a female for that position who worked at the previous place of employment that I had worked. This female is around 40 (give or take a few years) with less experience than myself. I am wondering if anything can be done since I personally think it's discrimination on my behalf?

Asked on 11/11/11, 7:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, you are without viable recourse under the facts described and applicable Virginia/federal law (in my opinion).

Read more
11/11/11, 7:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now