Virginia | Education Law
Legal Question
Can a school ask you to prove you paid your electric bill in order to enroll a child in school?
I tried to enroll a child in a Chesapeake, Virginia school today and the office lady seen that I have a past due balance on my electric bill and asked me if I had paid my bill. I told her it was none of her business and she told me I have to provide proof (receipt of payment) that I have paid that past due balance before they will allow me to enroll my child in school. She told me it is state law!
Is this true and can they really make me provide proof I paid my electric bill?
School: Western Branch Primary in Chesapeake Virginia


