Virginia  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
2/02/08, 10:22 pm

Legal Question


Turning a passion into a profession

After years of writing and acting in skits for my church, I'm attempting it as a profession. I've registered a full length script for copyright and want to present it as a public performance that will lead to writing and performing plays all over. Do I need a business license or would I be an independent contractor? I also want to set up a website where customers can buy a DVD of my productions and offer my services to potential clients. Am I doing business as an individual or do I have to get a business license and set up a LLC or something? And if I need a lawyer, what area of law should they practice?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search