Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 10:17 pm

Legal Question


I comitted adultery. My husband and I have tried to reconcile but it isnt working. There was a child born that may not be his. I put my husbands name on the birth cetificate cause we were in the process of working it out. What legal right does he have to the child? and how will this effect a divorce?


question bubble
11/22/09, 10:28 am

Legal Answer


Since the child was born of the marriage, he currently has all the parental rights with respect to this child that any parent would normally have until a court of proper jurisdiction rules otherwise.

And, if you provably committed adultery, your husband could charge you with that as a so-called fault ground for divorce, if he chose to.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 3:22 pm

Legal Answer


Adultry must be proven and is sometimes difficult to prove. It can affect the equitable distribution and support. Do a paternity test.

sheryl shane

sheryl shane, attorney at law 4015 chain bridge road, j Fairfax, VA 22030

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search