Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 8:39 am

Legal Question


IN our original divorce decree, which was filed in Florida, my ex husband had primary custody of our children. Shortly after, we decided our boys would be better off with me. So they moved in with me and my fiance', now husband, and have lived with us ever since. IN 2001, my ex gave me a certified letter saying he relinquishes any custody and wishes to give my husband and I sole custody. He said he would change the divorce decree, he did not, and that was our fault. But now, over a decade later he is giving us a hard time about any support, he doesn't want to pay any, and if we question him, he says he doesn't have to because he never changed our decree, and in fact I owe him. Our tax records prove the boys have lived with us, my husband pays the majority of their care, and they go to school in our district. Is he right, and I will owe him, so I should say nothing?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search