Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 4:34 pm

Legal Question


My parents split up several years ago. They never got a legal seperation or a divorce. My mother is age 72, lives alone in New Hampshire and collects social security and has a small part time job. My father is age 74, lives in Florida with another woman and collects social security only. His girlfriend has no income.

Each parent has only a small amount of savings.

Question 1: If one parent was to become ill and/or needs to go in a nursing home would the other parent be responsible for paying medical bills etc.?

Question 2: My mother does not have a will and for some reason will not get one. When she dies, and if she is still legally married to my father, how will her assets be distributed?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search