Legal Question in Family Law in Virginia

I currently rent a house with my girlfriend. Our relationship has turned very unhealthy. She has threatened suicide, our realtionship has become violent, she has stalked me, and a number of other really unhealthy things that are above normal realtionship problems. She has created an environment that I feel unsafe living in. I have given her the option of assuming the lease or I will--she will not and demands that I live up to the terms of the lease. It is unsafe, and i will not live there. Am i still liable for the rent, if she will not move out or break the lease with me? I cannot afford the rent as well as pay for another place to stay. Please help.

Asked on 10/11/11, 1:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, either way you're liable on the lease unless your landlord is willing

"to give you a pass" on it, so to speak (not too likely).

Read more
10/11/11, 2:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88167 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now