Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 2:48 pm

Legal Question


My sister died Nov. 6th. She left a will stating I have guardianship over her 16 year old son. I also have been named executor and trustee. I had to place over $8,000 in expenses on my credit card and have no money left. I have been told I have to hire an attorney to get custody. At $200 an hour just for consultation, I can't do it. Do I have to have an attorney? Or can I petition the court on my own?


question bubble
11/21/09, 2:55 pm

Legal Answer


To answer your question fully, it would help to know if the child's father is still alive.

You can file a custody petition in the juvenile court without an attorney for $25. However, under these circumstances, it might be better to request a guardianship order from the circuit court. I may or may not have a form for this, but if you email me, I'll send you one if I can find it.

Please accept my sympathy for your loss.

Robert Beard

Attorney at Law 219 East Davis Street, Suite 350 Culpeper, VA 22701-3013

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search