Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


One spouse has threatened to shoot other if they come home, calls constantly at work. Joint ownership of business, only one spouse employed there. Is there any way to get an immediate order of protection against or restraining order against to keep the spouse making threats and harassing calls to leave the other one alone. Also, can restraining orders be placed on spouse making threats where employees are concerned, to make that spouse stay away from employees, even though joint owner of business?

Spouse making threats does not work at store, only joint owner because of commonwealth state.


question bubble
11/17/09, 5:08 pm

Legal Answer


The spouse who has been threatened by the other can petition the J&DR;Court for a CPO (Civil Protection Order). Employees who also feel threatened would need to petition on their own for such a protection order(in my opinion).

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 8:28 pm

Legal Answer


There are protective orders ie. emergency protective order, preliminary protective order, and a

regular protective order. You may request for you and your children. I agree others will have to request for themselves.

sheryl shane

sheryl shane, attorney at law 4015 chain bridge road, j Fairfax, VA 22030

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search