Virginia | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Eligibility requirements of 50 employees in 75 mile radius
I need a surgery that will put me out of work for 4 to 5 weeks. My company has 89 stores nationwide but only 3 in my state. One requirement is 50 employees in a 75 mile radius. Does that mean within 75 miles of my store or 75 mile within corporate headquarters where the are 100's of employees? If I am not eligible due to this will I lose my job if I take this time off for this surgery? What are my options? Who grants the leave time? Is it the employer or the federal government?


