Virginia  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
9/28/09, 11:02 am

Legal Question


My employer has work performance stats that are affected by my missed time from work. We are graded on our work performance and certain duties are affected by time missed from work and being able to meet those standards. they have put me on a work performance warning if those stats do not meet company standards within 30 days or they can terminate my posistion. I work for GEICO insurance company as a claims adjuster.


question bubble
10/03/09, 11:11 am

Legal Answer


So your question is: is this legally permissible.?

Yes, quite so, and in a so-called employment at will jurisdiction like the Commonwealth and working without the protection of a contract (which presumably you are), you could be terminated Monday morning and you would be without recourse or remedy.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law
211 North Union Street Suite 100
Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search