Legal Question in Medical Leave in Virginia

I am currently on FMLA with my employer. In short, the realty company that I am currently renting my home from called my employment in an attempt to contact me. When I could not be reached, the realty company was informed by someone from my employment that I am on medical leave. According to DOL, FMLA and HIPAA regulations, this information was not to be given to anyone other than members of management and only on a need to know basis. I have contacted my employment's Compliance Officer and informed the office of the violation, but have not had any response as to how they were going to rectify this situation. I have also filed a complaint with the company's compliance hotline, and still no response. I know this is a violation of my confidentiality rights and my question is do I have grounds to sue for damages?

Thank you for your advice and direction.

Sincerely

Leslie Ramirez

Asked on 4/18/12, 3:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

So, in real quantifiable monetary terms, what are your damages arising out

of this incident?

Read more
4/18/12, 6:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Medical Leave Act Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now