Virginia  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 1:23 pm

Legal Question


Is it legal to order pain killers over the internet without a prescription from a Chinese distributor? If it is illegal how enforced is it?

Some websites claim that you can order up to a 3 months supply without a prescription. I have a medical condition that causes the muscles in my jaw and neck to tense up, which can cause severe pain for several hours or a couple of days. I was prescribed vicodin to ease the pain, but because of the price of medical insurance, etc. I can't afford it anymore. The pain gets really bad some days and the pain pills are the only thing I can afford right now. I do not want to do anything illegal and I want to save money, this seems like the only alternative right now.


question bubble
11/02/09, 5:22 pm

Legal Answer


No. Depends.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search