Virginia  |  Intellectual Property

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/17/03, 9:10 am

Legal issues with playing music in lobby

Hi,

I work for a small town bank in which we have a background music feed playing throughout the bank (including the lobby) at three of our six branches. Currently we pay a monthly fee for the satellite audio feed. I was interested in doing that “in house”, rather than through the current satellite system. Are there any legal issues with playing CD’s that the bank has purchased? I would like to buy several CD’s, turn the tracks into MP3’s and place them on my server. Then distribute the MP3’s to the speakers via this product

http://www.turtlebeach.com/site/products/audiotron/producthome.asp the AudioTron-100. In this situation, would there be any copyright issues or other legal issues such as royalties?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search