Legal Question in Investment Law in Virginia

Trying to collect my 401K

I was discharged from employment on 12/21/06. I was contributing to a 401k plan with this employer, who secured the services of Fred Shapiro and Assoc of Baltimore MD to manage the investments with MetLife. After over 6 months, I have yet to receive even a distribution request form from Fred Shapiro, my previous employers state they cannot do anything to expedite this process. Info provided to me via ex-employer issued by Fred Shapiro states that I may have to wait UP TO 7 months from date of termination to collect, and this deadline is fast approaching, actually in 7 days. NO ONE will reply to my requests for even the forms, and I feel there must be some recourse for me. How long should I be expected to wait? This money is sitting, gaining dividends that cannot be vested for me. I have lost 6 months worth of prospective interest or dividend earnings because obviously I am unable to re-invest this money. Is there a law governing how long an ex-employer can keep one waiting?

Asked on 7/14/06, 9:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Trying to collect my 401K

Better see a lawyer knowledgeable in the laws governing ERISA and pension benefits.

Read more
7/14/06, 11:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Investment Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Investment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now