Virginia | Employment Law
Legal Question
I interviewed for a job earlier this week and was offered the position pending results of a drug screen. The offer was made to me over the phone. Salary and benefits were discussed and agreed upon and I accepted. I was told to come in the next day to pick up a drug screen testing kit and as soon as the results came in, the administrator would call me so I could start working. She asked if there were any other questions so I told her I was 4 months pregnant and would need the month of April off for maternity leave. She said that was acceptable and sent me to the lab for the drug screen. The results were to be in today and she just called stating that she did not have them yet, but she was putting a hold on the position because a third doctor that was supposed to start with the practice was not going to now and she had no need for another receptionist. I feel it was because I told her I was pregnant. Is this fair?


